| Sunday | 3 PM - Midnight |
| Monday - Thursday | 8 AM - Midnight |
| Friday | 8 AM - 8 PM |
| Saturday | Noon - 8 PM |
| Monday-Friday | 8 AM - 5 PM |
Books give you in-depth information on a topic, and are good sources for information that happened in the past or interpretive information for an on-going event or problem.
American Education by
Joel Spring’s American Education provides a clear, concise introduction to the historical, political, social, and legal foundations of education and to the profession of teaching in the United States. Students will come away with a strong knowledge of the forces behind the shaping of the American educational system through connecting with the latest topics, issues, and data.
Cultivating Curious and Creative Minds by
Cultivating Curious and Creative Minds presents a plethora of approaches to developing human potential in areas not conventionally addressed. Organized in two parts, this international collection of essays provides viable educational alternatives to those currently holding sway in an era of high-stakes accountability. Taken together, the chapters in Part I of Cultivating Curious and Creative Minds provide a sampling of what the cultivation of curious and creative minds entails. The contributing authors shed light on how curiosity and creativity can be approached in the teaching domain and discuss specific ideas concerning how it plays out in particular situations and contexts
Four-Dimensional Education: The Competencies Learners Need to Succeed by
What should students learn to best prepare for the twenty-first century? In this book, the Center for Curriculum Redesign (CCR) describes a framework built to address this question, so that curriculum is redesigned for versatility and adaptability, to thrive in our volatile present and uncertain future. The framework focuses on knowledge (what to know and understand), skills (how to use that knowledge), character (how to behave and engage in the world), and meta-learning (how to reflect on and adapt by continuing to learn and grow). This book is essential for teachers, department heads, heads of schools, administrators, policymakers, standard setters, curriculum and assessment developers, and other thought leaders and influencers, who seek to develop a thorough understanding of the needs and challenges we all face, and to help devise innovative solutions.
Most Likely to Succeed: Preparing Our Kids for the Innovation Era by
From two leading experts in education and entrepreneurship, an urgent call for the radical re-imagining of American education so that we better equip students for the realities of the twenty-first century economy. n Most Likely to Succeed, bestselling author and education expert Tony Wagner and venture capitalist Ted Dintersmith call for a complete overhaul of the function and focus of American schools, sharing insights and stories from the front lines, including profiles of successful students, teachers, parents, and business leaders. Most Likely to Succeed presents a new vision of American education, one that puts wonder, creativity, and initiative at the very heart of the learning process and prepares students for today's economy. This book offers parents and educators a crucial guide to getting the best for their children and a roadmap for policymakers and opinion leaders.
Teaching and Christian Practices by
n Teaching and Christian Practices several university professors describe and reflect on their efforts to allow historic Christian practices to reshape and redirect their pedagogical strategies. Whether allowing spiritually formative reading to enhance a literature course, employing table fellowship and shared meals to reinforce concepts in a pre-nursing nutrition course, or using Christian hermeneutical practices to interpret data in an economics course, these teacher-authors envision ways of teaching and learning that are rooted in the rich tradition of Christian practices, as together they reconceive classrooms and laboratories as vital arenas for faith and spiritual growth.
The library maintains a Juvenile Collection geared toward teaching quality literature in the classroom. The collection holds award winners from the following:
Developmentally Appropriate Practice by
This resource explains developmentally appropriate practice (DAP) so teachers can apply DAP in their work with children in first, second, and third grades.
French Elementary Education and the Ecole Moderne by
Introduction: the behemoth and the bonesetter -- The French education system -- The Freinet classroom and child-centered education -- Who was Célestin Freinet? -- Pedagogical choice and social and political commitment -- The ecole moderne beyond the classroom -- Summary and conclusions.
The Everyday Science Sourcebook by
"Think of this unique reference book as Inspiration Central for elementary and middle school science teachers. Fully updated with content selected to build on the AAAS and National Science Education Standards, this new edition is full of hundreds of entries that can spark your thinking the next time you need to fill in a gap in your curriculum, add a fresh element to your textbook lessons, or extend and enrich hands-on activities.
Health Education in the Elementary School by
Revised edition of: Health education in the elementary & middle-level school / Dean F. Miller, Susan K. Telljohann, Cynthia Wolford Symons. 2nd ed. c1996.
Critical Encounters in High School English by
In response to the emphasis placed on nonfiction and informational texts by the Common Core State Standards, the Third Edition of this book provides an integrated approach to incorporating nonfiction and informational texts into the secondary literature classroom. This new edition shows teachers how to adapt practices that have always defined good pedagogy to the new generation of standards for literature instruction.
The Competent Classroom by
Describes the cross-disciplinary journey of two high school teachers trying to align curriculum, assessment, and performance standards in their classrooms. With a focus on the importance of constantly inspiring students, the authors troubleshoot issues surrounding content standards, instructional objectives, and the aims of curriculum.
Discussion in the College Classroom by
Discussion in the College Classroom is a practical guide which utilizes that research, frames it sociologically, and offers advice, along with a wide variety of strategies, to help you spark a relevant conversation and steer it toward specific learning goals.
The Christian College by
"When it first appeared in 1984 The Christian College was the first modern comprehensive history of Protestant higher education in America. Now this second edition updates the history, featuring a new chapter on the developments of the past two decades, a major introduction by Mark Noll, a new preface and epilogue, and a series of instructive appendices."
Grade Inflation by
"Within any college or university, several different approaches to grading are used to evaluate students. Disparities in grading practices have serious consequences for both students and faculty, the most obvious being inequitable evaluations of students. More serious effects include a reduction in the number of science and mathematics courses that students take and a general degradation of academic standards. Recent efforts to reform grading practices have been thwarted by the claim that higher grades simply reflect higher levels of student achievement."
Ethical Leadership and Decision Making in Education by
The fourth edition of the best-selling text, Ethical Leadership and Decision Making in Education, continues to address the increasing interest in ethics and assists educational leaders with the complex dilemmas in today’s challenging and diverse society. Through discussion and analysis of real-life moral dilemmas that educational leaders face in their schools and communities, authors Shapiro and Stefkovich demonstrate the application of the four ethical paradigms―the ethics of justice, care, critique, and profession. After an illustration of how the Multiple Ethical Paradigm approach may be applied to real dilemmas, the authors present a series of cases written by students and academics in the field representing the dilemmas faced by practicing educational leaders in urban, suburban, and rural settings in an era full of complications and contradictions. Following each case are questions that call for thoughtful, complex thinking and help readers come to grips with their own ethical codes and apply them to practical situations.
Integrating Differentiated Instruction and Understanding by Design by
Connecting content and kids in meaningful ways is what teachers strive to do every day. In tandem, UbD and DI help educators meet that goal by providing structures, tools, and guidance for developing curriculum and instruction that bring to students the best of what we know about effective teaching and learning.
Schooling by Design by
Building on the premise of Understanding by Design, their acclaimed framework for curriculum, instruction, and assessment, the authors present a compelling argument for using the same approach to reach a grand goal: the reform of schooling as a whole. In their view, reform rests on six pillars: (1) a relentless focus on the long-term mission of school: enabling learners to demonstrate understanding and mature habits of mind; (2) a curriculum and assessment framework that honors the mission and ensures that content coverage is no longer the accepted approach to instruction; (3) a set of principles of learning that support all decisions about pedagogy and planning; (4) Structures, policies, job descriptions, practices, and use of resources consistent with mission and learning principles; (5) an overall strategy that includes ongoing feedback and adjustment; and (6) a set of tactics linked to strategy, including a planning process that uses backward design to accomplish the key work of reform. Practical, insightful and provocative, Schooling by Design elaborates on each of these elements and presents educators with both the rationale and the methodology for closing the gap between what we say we want from school and what school actually delivers--for turning vision into reality.
Spirituality in Educational Leadership by
With contributions from top leadership figures, this innovative and inspirational collection combines research and thought-provoking ideas for applying spiritual principles to administrative roles and responsibilities.
Teaching Math, Science, and Technology in Schools Today by
Teaching Math, Science, and Technology in Schools Today: Guidelines for Engaging Both Eager and Reluctant Learners offers unique, engaging, and thought-provoking ideas. The activities open imaginative doors to learning and provide opportunities for all learners. It surveys today's most important trends and dilemmas while explaining how collaboration and critical thinking can be translated into fresh classroom practices. Questions, engagement, and curiosity are viewed as natural partners for mathematical problem solving, scientific inquiry, and learning about technology. Like the Common Core State Standards, the book builds on the social nature of learning to provide suggestions for both eager and reluctant learners. The overall goal of the book is to deepen the collective conversation, challenge thinking, and provide some up-to-date tools for teachers so they can help reverse the steady erosion of math, science, and technology understanding in the general population.
Success for All by
Success for All is a comprehensive reform model for elementary school that combines state-of-the-art curriculum, research-based instructional methods, assessments, and professional development with one-to-one tutoring, extensive family support services...
Differentiating Instruction with Technology in the Middle School Classroom by
Middle school is a time of growth and change for students, with each student changing and growing in different ways and at different rates. These students, like the rest of us, have different interests, different backgrounds, and different goals for their lives. Educators have a responsibility to treat and teach them as individuals. Differentiated Instruction (DI) makes this possible, and technology makes DI easy, effective, and engaging. Recognizing a need for change in middle school instruction, the authors wrote Differentiating Instruction with Technology in Middle School Classrooms to show educators the benefits of combining DI with technology, encouraging educators to re-engage students by bringing lessons out of the past and into the student-centered reality of digital-age learning. This book offers an overview of research on the uniqueness of middle school students and illustrates the importance of using technology to create differentiated lessons, especially with this age group. It lists the fundamental components of DI, student traits that guide DI, and Web 2.0 resources that can help make DI a reality in the middle school classroom. It also includes sample activities for incorporating DI in multiple subjects: math, science, social studies, and language arts. The strategies and lessons in this book will ensure that students receive a tailored education that also prepares them with the technology skills they need for a successful future.
Mathematics in Middle and Secondary School by
The experience and knowledge acquired in teacher education courses should build important fundamentals for the future teaching of mathematics. In particular, experience in mathematical problem solving, and in planning lessons devoted to problem solving, is an essential component of teacher preparation. This book develops a problem solving approach and is intended to be a text used in mathematics education courses (or professional development) for pre-service or in-service middle and secondary school teachers.
Focus on the Wonder Years by
Young teens undergo multiple changes that seem to set them apart from other students. But do middle schools actually meet their special needs? The authors describe some of the challenges and offer ways to tackle them, such as reassessing the organization of grades K-12; specifically assisting the students most in need; finding ways to prevent disciplinary problems; and helping parents understand how they can help their children learn at home.
Learning Experiences to Promote Mathematics Learning by
This sixth volume, in the series of yearbooks by the Association of Mathematics Educators in Singapore, entitled Learning Experiences to Promote Mathematics Learning is unique in that it focuses on a single theme in mathematics education. The objective is for teachers and researchers to advance the learning of mathematics through meaningful experiences.
Personalizing the High School Experience for Each Student by
Discusses the six most pervasive problem areas in high school education today, and what schools are doing to connect with students, personalize learning, differentiate instruction, and make high school curriculum more relevant.
Contemplative Practices in Higher Education by
Contemplative practices are used in just about every discipline--from physics to economics to history--and are found in every type of institution. Each year more and more faculty, education reformers, and leaders of teaching and learning centers seek out best practices in contemplative teaching, and now can find them here, brought to you by two of the foremost leaders and innovators on the subject. This book presents background information and ideas for the practical application of contemplative practices across the academic curriculum from the physical sciences to the humanities and arts. Examples of contemplative techniques included in the book are mindfulness, meditation, yoga, deep listening, contemplative reading and writing, and pilgrimage, including site visits and field trips.
The Scholarship of Teaching and Learning in Higher Education by
This book is designed for lecturers on a wide range of professional courses. It directly addresses questions that come up again and again in seminar discussions; questions that are fundamental to the values and perspectives of academics across the disciplines.
Modeling and Measuring Competencies in Higher Education - Tasks and Challenges by
Measuring competencies acquired over the course of higher education is an area of research that largely has been neglected. This deficit can be attributed to the complexity of academic competencies since the variety of institutions, programs, occupational fields and job requirements render it difficult to define and even harder to measure outcomes. Thus, assessing the preconditions for and effects of competency development is a challenge methodologically. In this book, a comprehensive review of the international state of research on modeling and measuring competencies in higher education across several academic disciplines is presented, along with an evaluation of the field's strengths and weaknesses
Pedagogies for the Future by
Pedagogies for the Future illustrates a unique and exciting endeavor whereby a group of academics across one university developed a professional learning community for the purposes of investigating, articulating and developing their scholarship of practice. Through their collaborative efforts, these educator-researchers sit at the forefront of calls to take teaching seriously in higher education and to recognize the powerful potential of interdisciplinary collaboration. The book provides a model for establishing learning communities in higher education and demonstrates that such work is not only possible but also successful.
Creating Significant Learning Experiences by
n this thoroughly updated edition of L. Dee Fink's bestselling classic, he discusses new research on how people learn, active learning, and the effectiveness of his popular model; adds more examples from online teaching; and further focuses on the impact of student engagement on student learning. The book explores the changes in higher education nationally and internationally since the publication of the previous edition, includes additional procedures for integrating one's course, and adds strategies for dealing with student resistance to innovative teaching. This edition continues to provide conceptual and procedural tools that are invaluable for all teachers when designing instruction. It shows how to use a taxonomy of significant learning and systematically combine the best research-based practices for learning-centered teaching with a teaching strategy in a way that results in powerful learning experiences for students. Acquiring a deeper understanding of the design process will empower teachers to creatively design courses that will result in significant learning for students.
Curriculum Models for the 21st Century by
Changing student profiles and the increasing availability of mainstream and specialized learning technologies are stretching the traditional face-to-face models of teaching and learning in higher education. Institutions, too, are facing far-reaching systemic changes which are placing strains on existing resources and physical infrastructure and calling into question traditional ways of teaching through lectures and tutorials. And, with an ever-increasing scrutiny on teaching and teachers'accountability for positive educational outcomes, the call for closer attention to learning, teaching and, most especially, to the design and delivery of the curriculum is given increasing relevance and importance. Research provides strong evidence of the potential for technologies to facilitate not only cognition and learning but also to become integral components in the redesign of current curriculum models. Some Universities and individual academics have moved along this pathway, developing new and innovative curriculum, blending pedagogies and technologies to suit their circumstances. Yet, there are others, unsure of the possibilities, the opportunities and constraints in these changing times. Curriculum Models for the 21st Century gives insights into how teaching and learning can be done differently. The focus is on a whole of curriculum approach, looking at theoretical models and examples of practice which capitalize on the potential of technologies to deliver variations and alternatives to the more traditional lecture-based model of University teaching.
Reforming Teacher Education for Online Pedagogy Development by
Online education is a long-term goal at most higher-education institutions in the United States, but very few faculty members have sufficient training or knowledge of online pedagogy. As a result, students are not receiving the highest quality education, and institutions are struggling with student retention and the improvement of their distance education programs.
Reforming Teacher Education for Online Pedagogy Development creates the argument for more sufficient online teacher preparation in higher education. Geared towards all members of higher education including faculty, administrators, and educational affiliates (including accreditation bodies), this text also offers suggestions and methodologies for implementing and improving training programs for less-experienced institutions.
Fixing College Education by
Drawing on this belief in undergraduate teaching, Muscatine's new book now offers a radical new design for American college education.Muscatine begins with the observation that the mediocre undergraduate curriculum offered by most colleges and universities today is based on outdated ideas of what should be taught and what constitutes good teaching. Although Muscatine is himself a well-established research scholar, he contends that the publish-or-perish'research religion'of college and university faculties has seriously damaged undergraduate education...
