Longview Public Library
222 W. Cotton St.
Longview, TX 75601
903.237.1350
Tyler Public Library
201 S. College Ave.
Tyler, TX 75702
903.593.7373
Marshall Public Library
300 S. Alamo Blvd.
Marshall, TX 75670
903.935.4465
Upshur County Library
702 W. Tyler St.
Gilmer, TX 75644
903.843.5001
New to college-level research or just need a refresher? This Research Basics guide is designed to walk you through the core steps, tools, and strategies for finding reliable information and citing it confidently. Whether you’re starting your first paper or brushing up your skills, we’re here to help—welcome to your research journey with LETU Libraries!
When you're starting your research, it's helpful to know what kinds of sources are out there. From scholarly articles and books to videos and websites, different types of sources serve different purposes. This section will help you understand how to choose the right source for your assignment—and how to use it effectively.
There are different types of articles, and each type serves a different purpose.
Journal Articles – These may be called peer-reviewed journal articles or scholarly journal articles. They are written by researchers or experts in a field to share findings or discuss ideas. These articles go through a peer-review process, where other experts check the work before it’s published. Journal articles are useful when you need specific, up-to-date research but can be dense or technical.
Magazine Articles – These are written for a general audience and are usually easier to read. They often cover current events or trends but don’t include original research. Use these when you need background or public perspective on a topic.
Newspaper Articles – These offer very current information and often cover breaking news or local events. They can provide useful context or public reactions to issues but aren’t usually considered scholarly.
Books are a great resource when you need detailed, well-organized information on a topic. They’re especially helpful for building background knowledge, exploring a topic in depth, or supporting long-term projects.
Print Books – These are physical books available in the library. They’re ideal when you prefer reading on paper or want to browse shelves for related materials. You can search for print books using the library catalog and request them for pickup or mail delivery (depending on your location and status).
Ebooks – These are digital versions of books you can read online or download. LETU Libraries offers thousands of ebooks through our databases, and they’re accessible anytime, anywhere. Ebooks are especially helpful for online learners or when you need instant access to a title.
Books can be scholarly or general, depending on the author and publisher. Be sure to check the publication date and table of contents to see if it fits your research needs.
Databases are powerful tools that help you find reliable, research-quality sources like journal articles, ebooks, reports, and more. Instead of searching the whole internet, databases focus your search on academic and professional publications.
Academic Databases – These cover a wide range of subjects and are great starting points for most research projects.
Academic Search Complete – A great all-purpose database with articles from nearly every field.
JSTOR – Excellent for scholarly journal articles in the humanities, social sciences, and education.
Subject-Specific Databases – These focus on a particular field or discipline and often include more targeted, advanced content.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) – Focused on education research, teaching strategies, and policy.
ScienceDirect – Offers peer-reviewed articles in science, technology, engineering, and medicine.
Business Source Complete – A go-to database for marketing, finance, management, and business trends.
PsycINFO – Ideal for psychology, counseling, and behavioral sciences.
Tips for Using Databases
Use filters to narrow your search (e.g., by date, peer-reviewed, or full-text).
Don’t get discouraged if your first search doesn’t work—try different keywords or use Boolean operators (like AND, OR, NOT) to improve results.
When you're off campus, just log in with your LETU credentials to access all the same resources.
LibGuides are custom research guides created by librarians to help you succeed with your research – like this one!
Course or Subject LibGuides – These guides organize the best resources, databases, and tips for a specific subject or class. They're great for narrowing your search and finding librarian-recommended sources.
How-To LibGuides – These focus on specific research skills like citing sources, evaluating information, or using a database. Use them when you’re learning a new tool or skill.
LibGuides are a helpful starting point when you're not sure where to begin—they're like having a librarian walk you through the research process!
Websites vary widely in quality and purpose, so it’s important to evaluate them carefully.
Government & Organization Websites – Sites ending in .gov, .edu, or .org often provide trustworthy information. These can be great for data, reports, and official information.
News & Media Sites – These can offer recent updates and current events, but may be biased depending on the source. Always consider the purpose and audience.
Commercial & Personal Sites – These may include blogs, company websites, or opinion pieces. These can be useful for some assignments but should be used with caution and evaluated thoroughly.
