Books give you in-depth information on a topic, and are good sources for information that happened in the past or interpretive information for an on-going event or problem.
Business Research Methods by Donald R. Cooper; Pamela S. SchindlerPart I Introduction to Business Research 1 Research in Business 2 Thinking Like a Researcher 3 The Research Process 4 Business Research Requests and Proposals Appendix 4a: Covering Kids RFP 5 Ethics in Business Research part II The Design of Research 6 Research Design: An Overview 7 Secondary.
Call Number: HD30.4 .E47 2006
Publication Date: 2005-09-09
The Cultural Dimension of International Business by Gary FerraroDealing with issues connected with the anthropology of business, international business, applied anthropology, international marketing, and international management, this book demonstrates how the theory and insights of cultural anthropology can positively influence the conduct of international business.
Call Number: HD2755.5 .F48 2006
Publication Date: 2005-02-09
The Heart of a Business Ethic by David R. Young (Contribution by); C. William Pollard (Contribution by); James A. Baker (Contribution by); Warren Bennis (Contribution by); Brian Griffiths (Contribution by); Elmer W. Johnson (Contribution by); Michael Novak (Contribution by); Max De Pree (Contribution by); Donald G. Soderquist (Contribution by)Over the past several years a cascade of corporate scandals have erupted. Savings and provisions for retirement have shrunk drastically. Jobs have been lost. One of the world's largest and best-known accounting firms is gone. Ordinary people have been hurt and they have lost confidence in business leaders. The on-going public debate over business ethics and corporate reform points to one common conclusion: Things cannot be corrected by simply adding more laws and new rules. The solution will come from high moral leadership.The Heart of A Business Ethic is based on the Hansen-Wessner Lectureship Series established by the ServiceMaster Foundation to consider the source of moral authority and ethical behavior in business. The eight lectures in this series were presented at major universities in the U.S. and Britain, and brought together some of the most distinguished business experts of our time.
Call Number: HF5387 .H43 2005
Publication Date: 2005-09-08
Statistical Techniques in Business and Economics by Douglas A. Lind; William G. Marchal; Samuel A. WathenLind/Marchal/Wathen is a perennial market best seller due to its comprehensive coverage of statistical concepts and methods delivered in a student friendly, step-by-step format. The text presents concepts clearly and succinctly with a conversational writing style and illustrates concepts through the liberal use of business-focused examples that are relevant to the current world of a college student. Known as a "student's text," Lind's supporting pedagogy includes self-reviews, cumulative exercises, and coverage of software applications including Excel, Minitab, and MegaStat for Excel. And now, McGraw-Hill's adaptive learning component, LearnSmart, provides assignable modules that help students master chapter core concepts and come to class more prepared. In addition, resources within Connect help students solve problems and apply what they've learned. Lind's real-world examples, comprehensive coverage, and superior pedagogy combine with a complete digital solution to help students achieve higher outcomes in the course. Connect is the only integrated learning system that empowers students by continuously adapting to deliver precisely what they need, when they need it, and how they need it, so that your class time is more engaging and effective.
Publication Date: 2014-01-21
Business Idioms in America by Bruce StirlingMeet Joan Austen, a rising star in the advertising business. Joan's company is taking off and you have a front row seat as Joan and her staff resolve business and personal challenges during a typical business day in New York City. By entering Joan's world, you will acquire the latest and the most commonly used vocabulary in business today. Best of all, you will gain the skills and confidence you need to succeed in any English-speaking business environment anywhere in the world. • Over 2,000 essential business idioms and phrases • Perfect for classroom and for self-study.
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Business Strategy and Sustainability by Guler Aras (Editor, Contribution by); David Crowther (Editor, Contribution by)This volume examines the word that's on everybody's lips in business, in government and in society - sustainability. There are of course many aspects of sustainability which might be considered to reflect Brundtland's three pillars of economic, environmental and social sustainability. Others of course have different definitions which include such things as governance or supply chain management. Nevertheless business has recognised the significance of the concept and is responding by developing strategies to cope, although some would say that this is little more than window dressing. The debate continues however as to just what is meant by the term sustainability as far as business is concerned and how can this be achieved. This book is designed to address this debate and set it within the context of the global business and societal environment.
Business Strategy (the Brian Tracy Success Library) by Brian TracyHow will you determine if your company has succeeded if you can't base its performance on a well-defined business strategy? A strategic plan, established at your venture's birth, helps crystalize the future of the organization--mapping a clear path from where the company stands today to where you wish it to be.Renowned business author Brian Tracy has provided a simple path to creating the specific business strategy needed for your company's success. Readers of Business Strategy will discover how to:* Ask the five key questions vital to any strategic plan* Determine a corporate mission that lifts and inspires people* Define themselves in relation to their competition* Anticipate crises* Reposition their business with new products, services, and technology* And moreIncorporating wide-ranging examples--from Alexander the Great to IBM to General Electric--this concise, practical guide gives readers proven ideas for increasing their company's bottom line and maximizing their strengths and opportunities. The path to success starts at the beginning!
Publication Date: 2015-04-29
Recommended Reference Books
Encyclopedia of Leadership by James MacGregor Burns (Editor); George R. Goethals (Editor); Georgia J. Sorenson (Editor)The Encyclopedia of Leadership brings together for the first time everything that is known and truly matters about leadership as part of the human experience. Developed by the award-winning editorial team at Berkshire Publishing Group, the Encyclopedia includes hundreds of articles, written by 280 leading scholars and experts from 17 countries, exploring leadership theories and leadership practice. Entries and sidebars show leadership in action - in corporations and state houses, schools, churches, small businesses, and nonprofit organizations.
Call Number: REF HD57.7 .E53 2004 v.1-4
Publication Date: 2004-03-19
International Encyclopedia of Social SciencesThe entirely new International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences covers scholarship and fields that have emerged and matured since the publication of the original international edition. Like its predecessors, the set meets the needs of high school and college students, researchers inside and outside academia, and lay readers in public libraries. The new set highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features nearly 3,000 entirely new articles and important biographies contributed by thousands of scholars (including several Nobel prize winners) from around the world on a wide array of global topics, including: achievement testing, censorship, personality measurement, aging, income distribution, foreign aid (political and economic aspects), food (world problems, consumption patterns), cultural adaptation, comparative health-care systems, terrorism, political correctness, agricultural innovation, legislation of morality, sexual violence and exploitation, white collar crime. The new 2nd edition also features biographical profiles of the major contributors to the study of the social sciences, past and present.