Books give you in-depth information on a topic, and are good sources for information that happened in the past or interpretive information for an on-going event or problem.
Recommended Reference Books
A Critical History of Old English Literature by Stanley B. GreenfieldA critical study of the background and achievements of English literature from its origins in the sixth century to its continuing influence after the Norman Conquest.
Call Number: PR173 .G7
Publication Date: 1965-01-01
How to Read a Book by Mortimer J. Adler; Charles Van DorenInvestigates the art of reading by examining each aspect of reading, problems encountered, and tells how to combat them.
"The classic guide to intelligent reading."
Call Number: PN83 .A43 2014
Publication Date: 1972-08-15
The Norton Book of Classical Literature by Bernard KnoxMore than 300 pieces of classical literature, primarily Greek but also some Roman.
The Edinburgh Introduction to Studying English Literature by Dermot Cavanagh (Editor); Alan Gillis (Editor)The essential guide for students of literature Extensively tested at the University of Edinburgh, this introduction to the tools required for literary study provides all the skills, background and critical knowledge which students require to approach their study of literature with confidence. This second edition includes 3 new chapters on Reading, Writing an Essay, and Reflecting. Each focuses on the ‘how to'element when studying literature, and covers issues such as how to avoid plagiarism, and how to prepare a bibliography. The original emphasis on clear explanation of critical practices, and of literary forms, styles and techniques remains. These explanations are carefully illustrated through examples taken from readily-available works, especially those included in the Norton Anthology of English Literature. The result is a well-stocked toolbox providing introductions to the ways in which literary texts can be approached as well as to the critical, formal and historical understanding this requires. New for this edition: 3 new chapters on Reading, Writing an Essay, and Reflecting Updated Works Cited Texts discussed in the book keyed to the latest edition of the Norton Anthology of English Literature
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
The Oxford Companion to American Literature by James D. Hart; Phillip Leininger (Revised by)The Oxford Companion to American Literature has been an unparalleled guide to America's literary culture, providing one of the finest resources to this country's rich history of great writers. There are over 2,000 biographical profiles of important American authors (with information regarding their style, subjects, and major works) and influential foreign writers as well as other figures who have been important in the nation's social and cultural history. There are more than 1,100 full summaries of important American novels, stories, essays, poems (with verse form noted), plays, biographies and autobiographies, tracts, narratives, and histories.
Publication Date: 1995-10-12
The Oxford Companion to English Literature by Dinah Birch (Editor); Margaret Drabble (Editor)The Oxford Companion to English Literature has long been established as the leading reference resource for students, teachers, scholars, and general readers of English literature. It provides unrivalled coverage of all aspects of English literature ― from writers, their works, and the historical and cultural context in which they wrote, to critics, literary theory, and allusions.
Publication Date: 2009-11-23
Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature by David Scott Kastan (Editor)The Encyclopedia provides comprehensive coverage of literature from the Abbey Theatre to Israel Zangwill, covering the entire history of literature in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland in the major literary languages (Anglo-Saxon, English, Welsh, Scots, Irish, and Latin). It includes substantial accounts of individual authors (e.g., Spenser, Pope, Austen) and detailed histories of particular themes, movements, genres, and institutions, whose impact upon the writing or the reading of literature was significant (e.g., The Stationers' Company, the sonnet, the ‘School of Night, ’ or the Sublime)
Publication Date: 2006-03-03
Writing about Literature by Judith WoolfWriting about Literature combines detailed practical and scholarly advice with a sense of the scope and creative possibilities of literary criticism, empowering the student reader to make his or her own discoveries and experiments with language. In addition, it gives valuable guidance on adult language learning and translation skills for students of foreign literature. This handy, accessible guide covers all aspects of the essay-writing process, including: preliminary reading and choosing and researching a topic referencing and presentation computer use style, structure, vocabulary, grammar and spelling the art and craft of writing scholarly and personal insights into the problems and pleasures of writing about literature. Written in an entertaining and informative way and containing a wealth of practical advice and scholarly insights, this wise, witty and helpful book should be on every literature student's bookshelf..