Books give you in-depth information on a topic, and are good sources for information that happened in the past or interpretive information for an on-going event or problem.
Search For Books
by Lippincott Williams and Wilkins Staff
Call Number: RT120.E4 .E44 2015
Publication Date: 2014-12-26
"This fully updated second edition of 'Emergency Nursing made Incredibly Easy' offers cheerful, highly practical support to emergency nurses and nursing students. covering every conceivable topic, it moves seamlessly from evidence-based triage, assessment, testing and treatment to ethics, family issues and cultural considerations, in the popular and award-winning 'made Incredibly Easy' style."
Hurting for Love
by Herbert A. Schreier; Judith A. Libow
Call Number: RC569.5 .M83 S37
Publication Date: 1993-05-21
Parents who systematically fabricate illnesses in their children or intentionally make their children gravely ill are said to suffer from Munchausen by Proxy syndrome (MBPS). It is a form of child abuse that can lead to death or serious physical or psychological damage to the child, either through outright harm or as a result of painful tests and procedures performed by doctors trying to diagnose the child's "illness."
Introduction to research and medical literature for health professionals
by J. Glenn Forister
Call Number: R850 .I58 2016
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Regulatory protection of human subjects in research -- The research problem -- Review of the literature -- The systematic review -- Methodology -- Survey research -- Qualitative research -- Community-based participatory research -- Clinical investigations -- Data analysis -- Exploring statistics comparing differences in health care -- The results section -- The discussion section -- References -- Writing and publishing in the health professions -- Interpreting the literature.
by Ana; American Nurses Association Staff
Call Number: PC
Publication Date: 2010-10-01
This book is a safeguard providing parameters for practice. (RG) It contains 15 national standards of Practice and performance which define the Who, What, Where, When, Why, and How of nursing practice. It outlines key aspects of nursing's professional role and practice for any level, setting, population focus, or specialty. It informs and guides nursing practice and is often used as a reference for: Quality improvement; Certification and credentialing; Organizational structures; Position descriptions and performance appraisals; Classroom teaching and in-service training. This keystone Standard is a must-have for every registered nurse. - Publisher.
Simulation in nursing education
by New York, NY : National League for Nursing
Call Number: RT73 .S5135 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Simulation in some form has probably been used as a teaching strategy in nursing education since the first nurse tried to teach the first nursing student how to do a task properly. As our understanding of teaching and learning progressed, so did the simulations that were used. This book, the first of its kind for nurse educators, is the work of an innovative, creative group of nurse educators from all types of programs who wished to share what they learned during the course of a three-year multisite project that tested simulation models and contributed to the refinement of the body of knowledge related to the use of simulation in nursing education. We hope this book provides a pathway to help nursing faculty harness and shape the learning environments of tomorrow in order to create meaningful, realistic, and evidence-based experiences for their students.
This book provides a complete look at neonatal healthcare delivery. This edition includes discussions of contemporary topics of interest, such as informatics, genetics, global health, and family-centered care, which are vital to providers caring for neonates today. The case studies and the evidence-based practice dialogues at the end of each chapter provide great opportunities for further reflection. The book is useful to a wide audience in nursing, including undergraduate and graduate nursing students, practicing neonatal and pediatric nurses, and advanced practice nurses who care for neonates.
What distinguishes this Dictionary from others are its attention to the diversity in inquiry and distinctively nursing 'takes' on key concepts in theory and research. This Dictionary will be a welcome addition to the libraries of both new and experienced researchers
Nurses have been described as the backbone of correctional health care. Yet the complex challenges of caring for this disenfranchised population are many. Ethical dilemmas around issues of patient privacy and self-determination abound, and the ability to adhere to the central tenet of nursing, the concept of caring, is often compromised. Essentials of Correctional Nursing supports correctional nurses by providing a comprehensive body of current, evidence-based knowledge about the best practices to deliver optimal nursing care to this population. It describes how nurses can apply their knowledge.
Nursing Before Nightingale is a study of the transformation of nursing in England from the beginning of the nineteenth century until the emergence of the Nightingale nurse as the standard model in the 1890s. From the nineteenth century on historians have considered Florence Nightingale, with her training school established at St. Thomas's Hospital in 1860, the founder of modern nursing. This book investigates two major earlier reforms in nursing: a doctor-driven reform which came to be called the 'ward system,' and the reforms of the Anglican Sisters, known as the 'central system' of nursing.
In 'Nursing Homes Explained, ' an RN specializing in Gerontology shares her knowledge to help prepare readers for the inevitable decisions that have to be made as we and our loved ones age, and it provides a useful overview of the industry for nursing students and others thinking of entering the field. The book educates readers about the long-term care industry and the field of gerontology, with a discussion on death and dying, Alzheimer units, rehabilitation processes, elder abuse, the physician's role, and how corporations, middle management and direct care providers operate
Psychiatric nursing, although advanced in areas of interpersonal skills and manpower management, have been sadly lacking in the area of research relating to practice. This book aims to provide empirical evidence in relation to understanding a fundamental aspect of the psychiatric nurses' role, namely what constitutes the therapeutic relationship.
Recommended Reference Books
Grant's Atlas of Anatomy
by Anne M. R. Agur (Editor); Arthur F. Dalley (Editor)
Call Number: REF QM25 .A38 2005
Publication Date: 2004-04-28
Mosby's Diagnostic and Laboratory Test Reference
by Kathleen Deska Pagana; Timothy J. Pagana
Call Number: REF RB38.2 .P337 2011
Publication Date: 2010-11-16
This bestselling handbook provides concise coverage of tests without sacrificing important details. Each test entry includes, where relevant, alternate or abbreviated test names; type of test; normal findings; possible critical values; test explanation and related physiology; contraindications; potential complications; interfering factors; procedure and patient care (before, during, and after); and abnormal findings.
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professions
Call Number: REF R121 .M89 2013
Publication Date: 2012-09-18
"So much more than just a bestselling dictionary, Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health Professions, 9th Edition is a one-stop reference to help you make sense of the complex world of health care. It features over 56,000 authoritative definitions, 45 appendixes, a color atlas of the human body, online resources, and more than 2,450 full-color illustrations - nearly three times more than any other dictionary available - making it an indispensible reference for students and professionals alike."
Nursing 2017 Drug Handbook
Call Number: RM301.12 .N87 2017
Publication Date: 2016-06-02
Drugs Handbooks, manuals, etc. -- Pharmacology Handbooks, manuals, etc. -- Drugs Administration Handbooks, manuals, etc. -- Drugs -- Drugs Administration -- Pharmacology -- Drug Therapy nursing -- Nursing -- Handbooks and manuals -- Handbooks
Stedman's Medical Dictionary for the Health Professions and Nursing
by Stedman's Medical Dictionary Staff (Produced by)
Call Number: REF R121 .S8 2012
Publication Date: 2011-04-13
Featuring more than 56,000 entries, this thoroughly updated Seventh Edition contains the medical terminology used in more than 30 of today's fastest growing health profession areas--plus comprehensive inclusion of entries suited for the nursing field. The book includes 1,000 enriched color images and photographs, a glossy insert with detailed images by Anatomical Chart Company, more than 65 appendices, and cut thumb tabs for quick A-to-Z reference.