Books give you in-depth information on a topic, and are good sources for information that happened in the past or interpretive information for an on-going event or problem.
Search For Books
by Robert B. Jackson; Lisa A. Urry; Michael L. Cain; Steven A. Wasserman; Peter V. Minorsky; Jane B. Reece
Call Number: TXT QH308.2 .C34 2014
Publication Date: 2013-10-31
The Tenth Edition helps you develop a deeper understanding of biology by making connections visually across chapters and building the scientific skills needed for success in upper-level courses. New Make Connections Figures pull together content from different chapters visually, helping you see "big picture" relationships.
Dictionary of Biology
by Oxford University Press Staff (Created by); Robert S. Hine (Editor); Elizabeth Martin (Editor)
Call Number: REF QH302.5 .D54 2008
Publication Date: 2008-03-15
"This dictionary, now in its sixth edition, provides comprehensive coverage of terms and concepts in biology and biochemistry. Fully revised and updated, and with increased coverage in key areas, it is the perfect reference resource for anyone studying biology, either at school or university."--Jacket.
Vision and Art
by Margaret S. Livingstone; David Hubel (Foreword by)
Call Number: N7430.5 .L54 2002
Publication Date: 2002-05-07
How we see art depends ultimately on the cells in our eyes and our brains. This book explains how the eye and brain translate different wavelengths of light into the colors and forms of the world around us. The author turns to art in order to delve into the science underlying various phenomena in painting, using example to illustrate her points.
Toggle expanding/contracting information section Find a copy in the library
Explains biological concepts and explores related fields as well as the history of biological science. Discusses critical issues such as embryogenesis and commercial applications of research in biology and addresses ethical issues. Provides information on careers in biology. Contains sidebars, bibliographies, timelines, charts, a glossary, and individual and cumulative indexes.
This four-volume laboratory manual contains comprehensive state-of-the-art protocols essential for research in the life sciences. Techniques are presented in a friendly step-by-step fashion, providing useful tips and potential pitfalls. The important steps and results are beautifully illustrated for further ease of use. This collection enables researchers at all stages of their careers to embark on basic biological problems using a variety of technologies and model systems.
Half of all insect species are dependent on living plant tissues, consuming about 10% of plant annual production in natural habitats and an even greater percentage in agricultural systems, despite sophisticated control measures. Plants possess defences that are effective against almost all herbivorous insect species. Host-plant specialization, observed in over 80% of these animals, appears to be an effective adaptation to breach these defence systems.
With the exception of climate change, biological invasions have probably received more attention during the past ten years than any other ecological topic. Yet this is the first synthetic, single-authored overview of the field since Williamson's 1996 book. Written fifty years after the publication of Elton's pioneering monograph on the subject, Invasion Biology provides a comprehensive and up-to-date review of the science of biological invasions while also offering new insights and perspectives relating to the processes of introduction, establishment, and spread. The book connects science with application by describing the health, economic, and ecological impacts of invasive species as well as the variety of management strategies developed to mitigate harmful impacts.
Recommended Audio Books
The best of John Patrick, M.D. : irreducible complexity.
by John Patrick M.D
Fully revised and updated, the sixth edition of this dictionary provides comprehensive coverage of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry, as well as key terms from medicine and palaeontology. It includes biographies of key scientists, and feature articles on important topics, such as bioinformatics, genetically modified organisms, microarray technology, and RNA interference.
Writing Papers in the Biological Sciences
by Victoria E. McMillan
Call Number: REF QH304 .M36 2006
Publication Date: 2006-03-17
Designed primarily for undergraduates, this self-help manual offers straightforward solutions to common problems and an overview of the diversity of writing tasks faced by professional biologists.