Fully revised and updated, the sixth edition of this dictionary provides comprehensive coverage of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry, as well as key terms from medicine and palaeontology. It includes biographies of key scientists, and feature articles on important topics, such as bioinformatics, genetically modified organisms, microarray technology, and RNA interference.
Writing Papers in the Biological Sciences
by Victoria E. McMillan
Call Number: REF QH304 .M36 2006
Publication Date: 2006-03-17
Designed primarily for undergraduates, this self-help manual offers straightforward solutions to common problems and an overview of the diversity of writing tasks faced by professional biologists.
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Academic Edition, containing over 73,000 articles, is a comprehensive, convenient, and accurate resource from which one can begin his or her research. Several bonus features are included in this online reference tool: Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus; thousands of photographs, illustrations, and sound files; complementary Web site hot links; hundreds of relevant videos; hot links from Encyclopaedia Britannica articles to related magazine and journal articles from EBSCO and ProQuest online databases; World Data containing information and customizable charts and tables about nations of the world; over 4,000 Notable Quotations from historical and contemporary important men and women; and Gateway to the Classics, 225 works by 140 significant writers of the Western world.
This current events database allows users to explore social, political, and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics. Contains full text articles from international and regional newspapers, EBSCO’s periodicals collection, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, government information, and EBSCO’s Current Issues database.