Previously named A Dictionary of Computing, this bestselling dictionary has been fully revised by a team of computer specialists, making it the most up-to-date and authoritative guide to computing available. Including expanded coverage of multimedia, computer applications, networking, and personal computing, it encompasses all aspects of the subject. Terms are defined in a jargon-free and concise manner, with helpful examples where relevant, and the appendices include useful resources such as generic domain names, file extensions, and the Greek alphabet.
This book presents current research in the field of computer science. Topics discussed include developing soft computing approaches for flood level forecasting; soft computing in astronomy; fuzzy linear goal programming applied to solve assets and liability management problems in banks; computer-assisted teaching on science education; inquiry web-based learning to enhance knowledge construction; new forms of and tools for cooperative learning with social software in higher education; e-technology use and abuse in university classrooms; a strategy for analyzing digital epistemic games and exploring the educational possibilities of computer games.
This book presents fundamental contributions to computer science as written and recounted by those who made the contributions themselves. As such, it is a highly original approach to a “living history” of the field of computer science. The scope of the book is broad in that it covers all aspects of computer science, going from the theory of computation, the theory of programming, and the theory of computer system performance, all the way to computer hardware and to major numerical applications of computers.
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Academic Edition, containing over 73,000 articles, is a comprehensive, convenient, and accurate resource from which one can begin his or her research. Several bonus features are included in this online reference tool: Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus; thousands of photographs, illustrations, and sound files; complementary Web site hot links; hundreds of relevant videos; hot links from Encyclopaedia Britannica articles to related magazine and journal articles from EBSCO and ProQuest online databases; World Data containing information and customizable charts and tables about nations of the world; over 4,000 Notable Quotations from historical and contemporary important men and women; and Gateway to the Classics, 225 works by 140 significant writers of the Western world.
This current events database allows users to explore social, political, and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics. Contains full text articles from international and regional newspapers, EBSCO’s periodicals collection, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, government information, and EBSCO’s Current Issues database.