Books give you in-depth information on a topic, and are good sources for information that happened in the past or interpretive information for an on-going event or problem.
Search For Books
Critical Thinking about Psychology
by Brent D. Slife; Jeffrey S. Reber; Frank C. Richardson
Call Number: BF38 .C75 2005
Publication Date: 2004-12-15
In this volume, experts from varied subdisciplines critique assumptions peculiar to their speciality and then propose alternatives to replace the original assumptions. The book covers six major psychology subdisciplines, ranging from clinical psychology to neuropsychology. Contributors critique unquestioned tenets of the field such as the dualism between mind and body, the truth of efficient causation, and the discrete unit known as the individual.
A History of Modern Psychology
by Duane P. Schultz; Sydney Ellen Schultz
Call Number: TXT BF95 .S35 2012
Publication Date: 2011-02-22
Focusing on modern psychology, the text's coverage begins with the late 19th century. The authors personalize the history of psychology not only by using biographical information on influential theorists, but also by showing how major events in those theorists' lives have affected the authors' own ideas, approaches, and methods.
Judeo-Christian Perspectives on Psychology
by William R. Miller; Harold D. Delaney
Call Number: BF51 .J83 2005
Publication Date: 2004-09-15
In its etymology, the word 'psychology' literally means the study of the spirit or soul. Yet through much of the 20th century, psychology remained oddly divorced from spirituality and religion. While religion is an important, even central aspect of experience and identity for many people, very little has been done to incorporate this dimension of human nature into mainstream psychological theory and research.
Practical Ethics for Psychologists
by Samuel J. Knapp; Leon D. Vandecreek
Call Number: BF76.4 .K64 2012
Publication Date: 2012-05-15
The legal floor and positive ethics -- Foundations of ethical behavior -- Ethical decision making -- Competence -- Informed consent, empowered collaboration, or shared decision making -- Multiple relationships and professional boundaries -- Confidentiality, privileged communications, and record keeping -- Life-endangering patients -- Forensic psychology -- Assessment -- Special topics in psychotherapy -- Business issues -- Psychologists as educators -- Consultation and clinical supervision -- Research and scholarship.
The Social Psychology of Morality
by Mario Mikulincer (Editor); Philllip R. Shaver (Editor)
Call Number: BJ45 .S635 2012
Publication Date: 2011-09-15
Humans are universally concerned with good and evil, although one person's "evil" can be another person's "good." How do individuals arrive at decisions about what is right and what is wrong? And how are these decisions influenced by psychological, social, and cultural forces? Such questions form the foundation of the field of moral psychology. In trying to understand moral behavior, researchers historically adopted a cognitive-rationalistic approach that emphasized reasoning and reflection. However, a new generation of investigators has become intrigued by the role of emotional, unconscious, and intra- and interpersonal processes. Their explorations are presented in this third addition to the Herzliya Series on Personality and Social Psychology. The contributors to this volume begin by presenting basic issues and controversies in the study of morality; subsequent chapters explore the psychological processes involved, such as the cognitive mechanisms and motives underlying immoral behavior and moral hypocrisy. Later chapters discuss personality, developmental, and clinical aspects of morality as well as societal aspects of good and evil, including the implications of moral thinking for large-scale violence and genocide. The wide-ranging findings and discussions presented in this volume make this work a provocative and engaging resource for social psychologists and other scholars concerned with moral judgments and both moral and immoral behavior.
Every serious psychology teacher strives to design and execute classes that will be comprehensive, organized, predictable, dynamic, and meaningful. As psychology educators, we are blessed to teach in a discipline that provides such an impressive store of rich raw material from which to choose to help us meet our intended teaching and learning outcomes. However, every seasoned psychology teacher also knows that dealing with controversial issues effectively requires strategic, sometimes delicate, management to achieve desired results and avoid chaos in the classroom.
This introduction to psychology has been devised for those training for and working in the clergy. Ideal both as a professional handbook and a textbook, it covers social, developmental, educational, occupational and counselling psychology, as well as the psychology of religion. It carefully considers the processes of personal change and growth central to religion..
The study of self-concept has a long tradition in psychological research focusing on at least seven issues: (1) definitional aspects of dimensions and specific components of self-views; (2) neuropsychological aspects as well as structural aspects of self-concept; (3) measurement aspects of self-concept; (4) a nomological network of self-concept; (5) underlying mechanisms of the relationship between self-concept and psychological and health outcomes; (6) developmental aspects of self-concept; and (7) cross-cultural differences in self-concept. The chapters in this book cover and deal with one or other of these issues. The majority of these chapters present both theoretical background and empirical innovative studies. This book sheds new light and provides new empirical evidences on the universality of the role of self-knowledge in psychological adjustment.
In this book, the authors present topical research in the study of the psychology of victimisation. Topics discussed include the victims of cyberbullying and the similarities and differences with traditional bullying; discriminating true and false allegations of victimisation; the effects of bullying victimisation from childhood to young adulthood; the long term impact of victimisation in cases of child sexual abuse and the link between victimisation and voting preferences.
This comprehensive introduction to social psychology explores self, attitudes, socialization, communication, interpersonal attraction and relationships, and personality and social structure.
Recommended Reference Books
APA Dictionary of Psychology
by Gary R. Vandenbos (Editor)
Call Number: REF BF31 .A63 2007
Publication Date: 2006-07-15
The largest association of psychologists in the world - the American Psychological Association - presents the definitive information on the language of the field, including: 25,000 entries offering clear and authoritative definitions.
Career Paths in Psychology
by Robert J. Sternberg
Call Number: REF BF76 .C38 2017
Publication Date: 2016-09-01
"The chapters describe 30 different graduate-level careers for those holding a PhD, EdD, or PsyD in three distinct areas of endeavor: academia, clinical and counseling psychology specialized settings such as for-profit businesses, nonprofits, the military, and schools. Each chapter explores a different career, including typical daily activities, the approximate range of compensation, advantages and disadvantages of the career, opportunities for employment and advancement, and how to plan one's educational and professional experiences to prepare for this specialty."
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5
by American Psychiatric Association Staff; Carolyn Kernberger
Publication Date: 2013-05-22
This is the standard reference for clinical practice in the mental health field. Since a complete description of the underlying pathological processes is not possible for most mental disorders, it is important to emphasize that the current diagnostic criteria are the best available description of how mental disorders are expressed and can be recognized by trained clinicians.
by Luis A. Cordón
Call Number: REF BF31 .C715 2005
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
The 120 or so entries in this volume cover a wide range of topics, including, for example, Alien abduction, Birth order, Insanity defense, Mad cow disease, Multiple personality disorder, Parenting styles, and Satanic ritual abuse. Also represented are individuals such as Carl Jung and Dr. Phil. The goal is "to try to counteract the tide of misleading information about the field of psychology with a concise guide to some things that the well-informed student of psychology and the interested general public ought to know.
Religion and the Clinical Practice of Psychology
by Edward Shafranske; Edward P. Shafranske; American Psychological Association Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: REF BF51 .R45 1996
Publication Date: 1996-05-15
This book presents a comprehensive treatment of religion as a variable in mental health and psychological treatment. A collection of essays from the foremost authorities in the field, it examines the ways in which religion may be addressed in clinical practice and offers a thorough appreciation of the history of the antagonism and overlap between the two perspectives and of the psychological theory and empirical research that has been engendered from Freud to the present.
Undergraduate Writing in Psychology
by R. Eric Landrum
Call Number: REF BF76.7 L36 2012
Publication Date: 2012-06-18
Now updated to reflect the changes made from the 5th to the 6th edition of the Publication Manual, this book takes the reader step-by-step through: * crafting research questions or theses * executing library database searches * analyzing, evaluating, and synthesizing literature * drafting specific parts of a paper * and more Writing samples, including two full-length student papers in draft, marked-up, and final form, illustrate key concepts such as how to synthesize literature, how revision differs from editing, and how to recognize and avoid plagiarism. Guidance on how to communicate with instructors on a professional level is given, and the book shows examples of checklists and grading rubrics instructors might use. A self-quiz to engage the reader's knowledge of APA style and format is also included, as well as example reference formats and other quick-reference style tools.