The library is open for students and LeTourneau University faculty and staff to use during these hours.
Public patrons are welcome 8:00 AM-5:00 PM weekdays.
3:00 pm - midnight
8:00 am - midnight
8:00 am - midnight
8:00 am - midnight
8:00 am - midnight
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
12:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Search OCLC WorldCat Discovery
Recommended Reference Books
APA Dictionary of Psychology
by Gary R. Vandenbos (Editor)
Call Number: REF BF31 .A63 2007
Publication Date: 2006-07-15
The largest association of psychologists in the world - the American Psychological Association - presents the definitive information on the language of the field, including: 25,000 entries offering clear and authoritative definitions.
Career Paths in Psychology
by Robert J. Sternberg
Call Number: REF BF76 .C38 2017
Publication Date: 2016-09-01
"The chapters describe 30 different graduate-level careers for those holding a PhD, EdD, or PsyD in three distinct areas of endeavor: academia, clinical and counseling psychology specialized settings such as for-profit businesses, nonprofits, the military, and schools. Each chapter explores a different career, including typical daily activities, the approximate range of compensation, advantages and disadvantages of the career, opportunities for employment and advancement, and how to plan one's educational and professional experiences to prepare for this specialty."
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5
by American Psychiatric Association Staff; Carolyn Kernberger
Publication Date: 2013-05-22
This is the standard reference for clinical practice in the mental health field. Since a complete description of the underlying pathological processes is not possible for most mental disorders, it is important to emphasize that the current diagnostic criteria are the best available description of how mental disorders are expressed and can be recognized by trained clinicians.
by Luis A. Cordón
Call Number: REF BF31 .C715 2005
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
The 120 or so entries in this volume cover a wide range of topics, including, for example, Alien abduction, Birth order, Insanity defense, Mad cow disease, Multiple personality disorder, Parenting styles, and Satanic ritual abuse. Also represented are individuals such as Carl Jung and Dr. Phil. The goal is "to try to counteract the tide of misleading information about the field of psychology with a concise guide to some things that the well-informed student of psychology and the interested general public ought to know.
Religion and the Clinical Practice of Psychology
by Edward Shafranske; Edward P. Shafranske; American Psychological Association Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: REF BF51 .R45 1996
Publication Date: 1996-05-15
This book presents a comprehensive treatment of religion as a variable in mental health and psychological treatment. A collection of essays from the foremost authorities in the field, it examines the ways in which religion may be addressed in clinical practice and offers a thorough appreciation of the history of the antagonism and overlap between the two perspectives and of the psychological theory and empirical research that has been engendered from Freud to the present.
Undergraduate Writing in Psychology
by R. Eric Landrum
Call Number: REF BF76.7 L36 2012
Publication Date: 2012-06-18
Now updated to reflect the changes made from the 5th to the 6th edition of the Publication Manual, this book takes the reader step-by-step through: * crafting research questions or theses * executing library database searches * analyzing, evaluating, and synthesizing literature * drafting specific parts of a paper * and more Writing samples, including two full-length student papers in draft, marked-up, and final form, illustrate key concepts such as how to synthesize literature, how revision differs from editing, and how to recognize and avoid plagiarism. Guidance on how to communicate with instructors on a professional level is given, and the book shows examples of checklists and grading rubrics instructors might use. A self-quiz to engage the reader's knowledge of APA style and format is also included, as well as example reference formats and other quick-reference style tools.
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Academic Edition, containing over 73,000 articles, is a comprehensive, convenient, and accurate resource from which one can begin his or her research. Several bonus features are included in this online reference tool: Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus; thousands of photographs, illustrations, and sound files; complementary Web site hot links; hundreds of relevant videos; hot links from Encyclopaedia Britannica articles to related magazine and journal articles from EBSCO and ProQuest online databases; World Data containing information and customizable charts and tables about nations of the world; over 4,000 Notable Quotations from historical and contemporary important men and women; and Gateway to the Classics, 225 works by 140 significant writers of the Western world.
Legal Information Reference Center offers everyday users the necessary tools and detailed how-to instructions covering a wide-range of legal issues. A majority of the full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation’s oldest and most respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses. With the Legal Forms by U.S. State feature, users can search state-specific legal forms by top subject areas including adoption, bankruptcy, name changes and more.
This current events database allows users to explore social, political, and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics. Contains full text articles from international and regional newspapers, EBSCO’s periodicals collection, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, government information, and EBSCO’s Current Issues database.