Books give you in-depth information on a topic, and are good sources for information that happened in the past or interpretive information for an on-going event or problem.
Search For Books
by Antonios G. Mikos; Johnna S. Temenoff
Call Number: R857.M3 T47 2008
Publication Date: 2008-01-02
Materials for biomedical applications -- Chemical structure of biomaterials -- Physical properties of biomaterials -- Mechanical properties of biomaterials -- Biomaterial degradation -- Biomaterial processing -- Surface properties of biomaterials -- Protein interactions with biomaterials -- Cell interaction with biomaterials -- Biomaterial implantation and acute inflammation -- Wound healing and the presence of biomaterials -- Immune response to biomaterials -- Biomaterials and thrombosis -- Infection, tumorigenesis and calcification.
Civil Engineer's Handbook of Professional Practice
by Karen Hansen; Kent Zenobia
Call Number: TA151 .H295 2011
Publication Date: 2011-04-26
There is a growing understanding that to be competitive at an international level, civil engineers not only must build on their traditional strengths in technology and science but also must acquire greater mastery of the business of civil engineering. Project management, teamwork, ethics, leadership, and communication have been defined as essential to the successful practice of civil engineering by the ASCE in the 2008 landmark publication, Civil Engineering Body of Knowledge for the 21st Century (BOK2). This single-source guide is the first to take the practical skills defined by the ASCE BOK2 and provide illuminating techniques, quotes, case examples, problems, and information to assist the reader in addressing the many challenges facing civil engineers in the real world.
by Charles B. Fleddermann
Call Number: TA147 .E52 2012
Publication Date: 2011-08-04
Engineering Ethics serves as both a textbook and a resource for the study of engineering ethics. It is written to help future engineers be prepared for confronting and resolving ethical dilemmas that they might encounter during their professional careers.
Engineering Fundamentals and Problem Solving
by Arvid R. Eide; Steven K. Mickelson; Larry L. Northup; Roland D. Jenison
Call Number: TA147 .E52 2012
Publication Date: 2011-01-20
Engineering Fundamentals & Problem Solving is written to motivate engineering students during their first year.
A complete introduction to the engineering field, this text will help students develop the skills to solving open-ended problems in SI and customary units while presenting solutions in a logical manner. Eide introduces students to subject areas that are common to engineering disciplines that require the application of fundamental engineering concepts.
by Russell C. Hibbeler
Call Number: PC
Publication Date: 2015-03-31
inematics of a particle -- Kinetics of a particle: force and acceleration -- Kinetics of a particle: work and energy -- Kinetics of a particle: impulse and momentum -- Planar kinematics of a rigid body -- Planar kinetics of a rigid body: force and acceleration -- Planar kinetics of a rigid body: work and energy -- Planar kinetics of a rigid body: impulse and momentum -- Three-dimensional kinematics of a rigid body -- Three-dimensional kinetics of a rigid body -- Vibrations -- Appendix.
Shigley's Mechanical Engineering Design
by Richard Budynas; Keith Nisbett
Call Number: TJ230 .S5 2011
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
This text on Mechanical Engineering Design focuses on blending fundamental development of concepts with a straight forward approach. Emphasis is laid on the design aspects of machines and their components.
The main objective of the special collection of 53 peer-reviewed papers was to gather some of the current knowledge from leading researchers, engineers and scientists in the field of: Biomechanics, Biomechatronics, Neurorehabilitation, Mechanical Engineering, Manufacturing Systems, Robotics, Aerospace..
Biomedical optical imaging is a rapidly emerging research area with widespread fundamental research and clinical applications. This book gives an overview of biomedical optical imaging with contributions from leading international research groups who have pioneered many of these techniques and applications. A unique research field spanning the microscopic to the macroscopic, biomedical optical imaging allows both structural and functional imaging. Techniques such as confocal and multiphoton microscopy provide cellular level resolution imaging in biological systems.
Magnetic recording : winner of the data storage technology race / Thomas R. Albrecht -- Evolution of large multiprocessor servers / Kourosh Gharachorloo -- Network survivability and information warfare / Michael K. Reiter -- Moving up the information food chain : the future of web search / Oren Etzioni -- Genes, chips, and the human genome / Stephen P.A. Fodor -- Colloidal-scale engineering / Eric W. Kaler -- Design of biomimetic polymeric materials / Arup K. Chakraborty -- Deregulating the electric grid : engineering challenges / Thomas J. Overbye -- The future of nuclear energy / Per F. Peterson -- Renewable energy technologies : today and tomorrow / James M. Chavez and Jane H. Davidson -- Issues associated with the volume manufacturing of vertical-cavity surface-emitting lasers / Thomas M. Brennan and H.Q. Hou -- Optical applications of microelectromechanical systems / Ming C. Wu -- Dinner speech: Career fexibility in rapidly changing times / Kent Kresa -- Appendixes.
This volume presents papers on the topics covered at the National Academy of Engineering's 2014 US Frontiers of Engineering Symposium. Every year the symposium brings together 100 outstanding young leaders in engineering to share their cutting-edge research and innovations in selected areas. The 2014 symposium was held September 11-13 at the National Academies Beckman Center in Irvine California. The topics covered at the 2014 symposium were: co-robotics, battery materials, technologies for the heart, and shale gas and oil. The intent of this book is to convey the excitement of this unique meeting and to highlight innovative developments in engineering research and technical work.
Collection of selected, peer reviewed papers from the 2013 International Conference on Mechanical Engineering, Civil Engineering and Material Engineering (MECEM 2013), October 27-28, 2013, Hefei, China. The
Recommended Reference Books
The Electrical Engineering Handbook
by Richard C. Dorf (Editor)
Call Number: REF TK145 .E354 1993
Publication Date: 1993-04-03
Now in its second printing, The Electrical Engineering Handbook is the most contemporary, comprehensive engineering handbook to be produced in decades. The Electrical Engineering Handbook features 2,700 pages filled with valuable tables, formulas, and definitions; contributions from 242 leading authors, professors, and researchers in electrical engineering; and an extensive cross-referencing and indexing system unmatched by any other available handbook.
Annual Book of ASTM Standards
by ASTM International
Call Number: REF TA401 .A514
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Periodicals for the American Society for Testing and Materials
by Erik Oberg; Holbrook L. Horton; Franklin D. Jones; Christopher J. McCauley (Editor); Henry H. Ryffel; Uni-Bell PVC Association Staff
Call Number: REF TJ151 .M33 2012
Publication Date: 2012-01-16
Machinery's Handbook has been the most popular reference work in metalworking, design, engineering and manufacturing facilities, and in technical schools and colleges throughout the world for nearly 100 years. It is universally acknowledged as an extraordinarily authoritative, comprehensive, and practical tool, providing its users with the most fundamental and essential aspects of sophisticated manufacturing practice. The 29th edition of the "bible of the metalworking industries" contains major revisions of existing content, as well as new material on a variety of topics. It is the essential reference for mechanical, manufacturing, and industrial engineers, designers, draftsmen, toolmakers, machinists, engineering and technology students, and the serious home hobbyist.