The library is open for students and LeTourneau University faculty and staff to use during these hours.
Public patrons are welcome 8:00 AM-5:00 PM weekdays.
FINALS WEEK HOURS
The library will have extended hours Sunday-Wednesday (December 4-7) for finals week. The library will be closed on Saturday and Sunday for graduation weekend (December 10-11).
3:00 pm- 2:00 am
8:00 am - 2:00 am
8:00 am - 2:00 am
8:00 am - 2:00 am
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Search OCLC WorldCat Discovery
Recommended Reference Books
Bartlett's Familiar Quotations
by John Bartlett; Justin Kaplan
Call Number: REF PN6081 .B27 1992
Publication Date: 1992-11-04
The epitome of quotation books, Bartlett's began in 1855. More than 22,000 quotations are arranged chronologically by the birth date of the person quoted and there are extensive indexes by author, subject and keyword. Emphasis is on British and American quotations, with Bible and Shakespeare amply represented. Exact references to original sources and helpful historical footnotes are provided. Each edition deletes and adds quotations so it is wise to retain earlier copies.
Cambridge Guide to English Literature
by Micheal Stapleton
Call Number: REF PR85 .C28 1983
Publication Date: 1983-09-01
The purpose of this book is to provide a guide to the literature of the English-speaking world in a single volume. It covers more than a thousand years and includes the literature of Great Britain, the United States, Australia, Canada and New Zealand; the English writing from Ireland and South Africa, and the new and exciting contributions from the West Indies and Nigeria since the Second World War. This book offers the reader more than facts. However, facts are essential: the entries begin with these and all-important dates will also be found. The lives of many writers are intrinsically interesting as well as significant to their work, and in cases where the details are known they are given at some length. Major works of poetry, fiction, drama, satire, history, philosophy and religion are described; so are the outstanding characters created by our major writers. A host of subjects and terms merit entries of their own -- metrical romances, metaphysical poetry, the Marprelate controversy, the closure of the playhouses: picaresque, latitudinarianism and transcendentalism are some of them. Two major ones, The English Language and The Bible in English, were specially commissioned.
Christianity and Literature
by David Lyle Jeffrey; Gregory P. Maillet
Call Number: PN49 .J44 2011
Publication Date: 2011-03-15
"What has Jesus Christ to do with English literature?" ask David Lyle Jeffrey and Gregory Maillet in this insightful survey. First and foremost, they reply, many of the world's best authors of literature in English were formed-for better or worse-by the Christian tradition. Then too, many of the most recognized aesthetic literary forms derive from biblical exemplars. And finally, many great works of literature demand of readers evaluative judgments of the good, the true and the beautiful that can only rightly be understood within a Christian worldview. What Jeffrey and Maillet offer is a feast of theoretical and practical discernment. After an examination of literature and truth, theological aesthetics, and the literary character of the Bible, they turn to a brief survey of literature from medieval times to the present, highlighting distinctively Christian themes and judgments. In a concluding chapter they suggest a path for budding literary critics through the current state of literary studies. Here is a must-read for all who are interested in a Christian perspective on literary studies.
The Columbia Encyclopedia of Modern Drama
by Gabrielle H. Cody; Evert Sprinchorn (Editor)
Call Number: REF PN1861 .C65 2007
Publication Date: 2007-07-03
"The Columbia Encyclopedia of Modern Drama covers the period from 1860 to the present. ... The distinctive feature of this encyclopedia is the emphasis it places on the cultural context of dramatic works and their authors."
The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature
by Margaret Howatson
Call Number: REF PA31 .H69 1989
Publication Date: 1989-05-25
It covers classical literature from the appearance of the Greeks, around 2200 B.C, to the close of the Athenian philosophy schools in A.D. 529. It includes articles on authors, major works, historical notables, mythological figures, and topics of literary significance. Short summaries of major works, chronologies, charts and maps are special features.
Webster's New World College Dictionary, Fifth Edition
by Webster's New World College Dictionaries Editors
Call Number: REF PE1628 .W5629 2016
Publication Date: 2016-06-28
Webster's new world college dictionary, fifth edition, presents a clear and accessible defining style, abundant synonym notes, full-page tables and charts, hundreds of drawings that complement the definitions and authoritative guidance on usage and style points plus it has added more than 4,700 entries and senses have been added, including terms from the areas of arts and sports, science and medicine, computers and the Internet, food, business, politics, and law. Tens of thousands of revisions have been made to existing senses, to bring them up-to-date and to reflect current usage.
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Academic Edition, containing over 73,000 articles, is a comprehensive, convenient, and accurate resource from which one can begin his or her research. Several bonus features are included in this online reference tool: Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus; thousands of photographs, illustrations, and sound files; complementary Web site hot links; hundreds of relevant videos; hot links from Encyclopaedia Britannica articles to related magazine and journal articles from EBSCO and ProQuest online databases; World Data containing information and customizable charts and tables about nations of the world; over 4,000 Notable Quotations from historical and contemporary important men and women; and Gateway to the Classics, 225 works by 140 significant writers of the Western world.
This current events database allows users to explore social, political, and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics. Contains full text articles from international and regional newspapers, EBSCO’s periodicals collection, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, government information, and EBSCO’s Current Issues database.