Skip to main content

   1-800-759-8811

Library Guides

Zotero: Create a Bibliography

Current Hours

The library is open for students and LeTourneau University faculty and staff to use during these hours.
Public patrons are welcome 8:00 AM-5:00 PM weekdays.

FINALS WEEK HOURS 

The library will have extended hours Sunday-Wednesday (December 4-7) for finals week.  The library will be closed on Saturday and Sunday for graduation weekend (December 10-11).

 

Day

Time

Sunday

3:00 pm- 2:00 am

Monday

8:00 am - 2:00 am

Tuesday

8:00 am - 2:00 am

Wednesday

8:00 am - 2:00 am

Thursday

8:00 am - 5:00 pm

Friday

8:00 am - 5:00 pm

Saturday/Sunday

CLOSED

Install Word Processor Plugin

Of the different ways to automatically generate bibliographies (as well as in-text citations and footnotes), the easy-to-use word processor plugins are probably the most flexible. These plugins, available for Microsoft Word and LibreOffice/OpenOffice/NeoOffice, create dynamic bibliographies: insert a new in-text citation in your manuscript, and the bibliography will be automatically updated to include the cited item. Correct the title of an item in your Zotero library and with a click of a button the change will be incorporated in your texts.

 

To get started with these plugins, check out the following links. You can also get a taste of how these plugins work in action by watching screencasts of Zotero and Word (by Hannah Rempel, using the most recent “Quick Format” version of the plugin) of Zotero and OpenOffice (by Ryan Guy, using the “classic” plugin).

Citation Styles

Major citation styles including APA, MLA, andChicago, are available in Mendeley.

Using a Zotero word processor plugin usually starts with clicking “Zotero Insert Citation” () to open the Quick Format Citation dialog, which allows you to cite items from your Zotero library. When you click this button for the first time in a new document, the “Document Preferences” window opens first.

Insert Citations and Create Bibliography

Quick Copy

If you just want to quickly add references to a paper, email, or blog post, Zotero's drag-and-drop Quick Copy is the easiest to go. Simply select items in the center column and drag them into any text field. Zotero will automatically create a formatted bibliography for you. To copy citations instead of references, hold down Shift at the start of the drag.

To configure your Quick Copy preferences, click the Actions menu (the gear icon) and select Preferences. Within the Preferences pop-up window, select Export. From this tab you can do the following:

  • Set the default export format
  • Set up site-specific export settings
  • Choose whether you want Zotero to include HTML markup when copying

You can also use Quick Copy keyboard shortcuts to copy citations and bibliographies to your system clipboard and then paste them into documents. See the Shortcut Keys preference pane for the default keys.

Right-Click to Create Citation/Bibliography

To create a bibliography or a citations list in Zotero, highlight one or more references and then right-click (or control-click on Macs) to select “Create Bibliography from Selected Item(s)…”. Then select a citation style for your citation/bibliography format and choose either to create a list of Citations/Notes or a Bibliography. Then choose one of the following four ways to create your citation/bibliography:

  • Save as RTF will allow you to save the bibliography as a rich text file.
  • Save as HTML will allow you to save the bibliography as a HTML file for viewing in a web browser. This format will also embed metadata allowing other Zotero users viewing the document to capture bibliographic information.
  • Save to Clipboard will allow you to save the bibliography to your clipboard to paste into any text field.
  • Print will send your bibliography straight to a printer.

Generating Citations With Zotero