The library is open for students and LeTourneau University faculty and staff to use during these hours.
Public patrons are welcome 8:00 AM-5:00 PM weekdays.
FINALS WEEK HOURS
The library will have extended hours Sunday-Wednesday (December 4-7) for finals week. The library will be closed on Saturday and Sunday for graduation weekend (December 10-11).
3:00 pm- 2:00 am
8:00 am - 2:00 am
8:00 am - 2:00 am
8:00 am - 2:00 am
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Search OCLC WorldCat Discovery
Recommended Reference Books
Ancient Christian commentary on Scripture
by Manlio Simonetti (Editor)
Call Number: REF BS2341.2 A535
Publication Date: 2001-10-10
With the aid of computer technology, the vast array of writings from the church fathers-- including much that is available only in the ancient languages-- have been searched for their comment on Scripture, then hand-selected by scholars who then shaped and annotated the materials to introduce it to today's readers. Each portion of commentary has been chosen for its salient insight, its rhetorical power and its faithful representation of the consensual exegesis of the early church.
The Biblical Illustrator
by Joseph S. Exell (Editor)
Call Number: REF BS491 .E9
Publication Date: 1988-07-01
The aim of The Speaker's Bible is to preserve all that is worth preserving of the modern interpretation of the Bible. It is the thought rather than the expression which is retained, though the expression has not been rejected when it seemed worthy. So much, however, has been done in the way of condensing, re-arranging, re-writing, adding to and illustrating, that the sources have not as a rule been given. But so far as these are published sermons, they will be found in the Index to Modern Sermons which accompanies each volume. Written by James Hastings, whose many labors grew out of a twofold conviction: the importance of scholarship and its compatibility with essential Christian faith.
The New Interpreter's Bible
by Leander E. Keck (Editor)
Call Number: REF BS491.2 .N484
Publication Date: 1994-09-01
A completely new commentary in twelve volumes. The New Interpreter's Bible continues the tradition established by its predecessor, the Interpreter's Bible, as an invaluable tool for everyone who studies, preaches, and teaches scripture -- including Bible scholars, pastors, Sunday school and Bible school teachers, and interested laypeople. Each volume of the New Interpreter's Bible includes two complete translations of selected books of the Bible, commentary, and reflections. The New Interpreter's Bible incorporates several other key strengths: the exegetical commentary and the theological reflections for each biblical book are written by one individual, ensuring consistency of perspective; the ecumenical roster of contributors includes top scholars and emerging new voices; the biblical text is divided into coherent and manageable units, such as pericopes, which allows discussion of important issues that are overlooked in a verse-by-verse treatment.
The NIV Application Commentary Series
Call Number: REF BS1151.52 .N37
Commentaries, Includes bibliographical references and indexes.
The Speaker's Bible
by James Hastings (Editor)
Call Number: REF BS491.5 .S73
Publication Date: 1979-01-01
Reprinted by special arrangements with The Speaker's Bible Office, Aberdeen, Scotland.
Twenty Centuries of Great Preaching
by Clyde E. Fant, William M. Pinson
Call Number: REF BV4241 .F34
Publication Date: 1971
An encyclopedia of preaching
Word Biblical Commentary
by Gordon J. Wenham
Call Number: REF BS491.2 .W67
Publication Date: 1987-10-09
The Word Biblical Commentary delivers the best in biblical scholarship, from the leading scholars of our day who share a commitment to Scripture as divine revelation. This series emphasizes a thorough analysis of textual, linguistic, structural, and theological evidence. The result is judicious and balanced insight into the meanings of the text in the framework of biblical theology. These widely acclaimed commentaries serve as exceptional resources for the professional theologian and instructor, the seminary or university student, the working minister, and everyone concerned with building theological understanding from a solid base of biblical scholarship.
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Academic Edition, containing over 73,000 articles, is a comprehensive, convenient, and accurate resource from which one can begin his or her research. Several bonus features are included in this online reference tool: Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus; thousands of photographs, illustrations, and sound files; complementary Web site hot links; hundreds of relevant videos; hot links from Encyclopaedia Britannica articles to related magazine and journal articles from EBSCO and ProQuest online databases; World Data containing information and customizable charts and tables about nations of the world; over 4,000 Notable Quotations from historical and contemporary important men and women; and Gateway to the Classics, 225 works by 140 significant writers of the Western world.
This current events database allows users to explore social, political, and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics. Contains full text articles from international and regional newspapers, EBSCO’s periodicals collection, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, government information, and EBSCO’s Current Issues database.