Books give you in-depth information on a topic, and are good sources for information that happened in the past or interpretive information for an on-going event or problem.
Search For Books
by Nivaldo J. Tro
Call Number: TXT QD453.3 .T759 2014
Publication Date: 2013-01-08
Chemistry: A Molecular Approach, Third Edition is an innovative, pedagogically driven text that explains challenging concepts in a student oriented manner. Nivaldo Tro creates a rigorous and accessible treatment of general chemistry in the context of relevance and the big picture. Chemistry is presented visually through multi level images macroscopic, molecular, and symbolic representations helping students see the connections between the world they see around them (macroscopic), the atoms and molecules that compose the world (molecular), and the formulas they write down on paper (symbolic). The hallmarks of Dr. Tro's problem solving approach are reinforced through interactive media that provide students with an office hour type of environment built around worked examples and expanded coverage on the latest developments in chemistry. Pioneering features allow students to sketch their ideas through new problems, and much more.
The Feynman Lectures on Physics
by Richard Phillips Feynman; Robert B. Leighton; Matthew Sands
Call Number: QC23 .F47
Publication Date: 1971-01-01
--v. 1. Mainly mechanics, radiation, and heat -- v. 2. Mainly electromagnetism and matter -- v. 3. Quantum mechanics.
The Infinity Puzzle
by Frank Close
Call Number: QC174.45 .C56 2011
Publication Date: 2011-11-29
Speculation is rife that by 2012 the elusive Higgs boson will be found at the Large Hadron Collider. If found, the Higgs boson would help explain why everything has mass. But there's more at stake-what we're really testing is our capacity to make the universe reasonable. Our best understanding of physics is predicated on something known as quantum field theory.
by Jim Berge
Call Number: QC21.2 .P4725 2013
Publication Date: 2013
This second edition of the successful textbook Modern Physics: An Introductory Text, preserves the unique blend of readability, scientific rigour and authenticity that made its predecessor so indispensible a text for non-physics science majors.
by Thomas W. Baumgarte; Stuart L. Shapiro
Call Number: QC173.6 .B38 2010
Publication Date: 2010-06-24
General relativity preliminaries -- The 3 + 1 decomposition of Einstein's equations -- Constructing initial data -- Choosing coordinates : the lapse and shift -- Matter sources -- Numerical methods -- Locating black hole horizons -- Spherically symmetric spacetimes -- Gravitational waves -- Collapse of collisionless clusters in axisymmetry -- Recasting the evolution equations -- Binary black hole initial data -- Binary black hole evolution -- Rotating stars -- Binary neutron star initial data -- Binary neutron star evolution -- Binary black hole-neutron stars : initial data and evolution.
Physics of the Future
by Michio Kaku
Call Number: Q175.5 .K257 2012
Publication Date: 2012-02-21
Renowned theoretical physicist Michio Kaku details the developments in computer technology, artificial intelligence, medicine, space travel, and more, that are poised to happen over the next hundred years. He also considers how these inventions will affect the world economy, addressing the key questions: Who will have jobs? Which nations will prosper? Kaku interviews three hundred of the world's top scientists- working in their labs on astonishing prototypes. He also takes into account the rigorous scientific principles that regulate how quickly, how safely, and how far technologies can advance. In this book, Kaku forecasts a century of earthshaking advances in technology that could make even the last centuries' leaps and bounds seem insignificant.
This book reviews the important achievements in subatomic physics in the past century. The chapters are divided into two parts: nuclear physics and particle physics. This book provides academics and researchers an essential overview of the present state of knowledge in nuclear and particle physics.
Contains over 3,800 entries covering all commonly encountered physics terms and concepts, as well as terms from the related fields of astronomy, astrophysics, and physical chemistry. Includes 200 new entries and expanded coverage in areas including applied physics, statistical distributions, polymers, and nanoscience. Provides in-depth analysis of key topics such as crystal defects, magnetic resonance imaging, the solar system, low-temperature physics, nanophysics, and quantum entanglement.
This book is written from the viewpoint of a deep connection between cosmology and particle physics. It presents the results and ideas on both the homogeneous and isotropic Universe at the hot stage of its evolution and in later stages. The main chapters describe in a systematic and pedagogical way established facts and concepts on the early and the present Universe.
Environmental Physics concerns the description and analysis of physical processes that establish the conditions in which all species of life survive and reproduce. The subject involves a synthesis of mathematical relations that describe the physical nature of the environment and the many biological responses that environments evoke.
Recommended Reference Books
The Macmillan Dictionary of Measurement
by John Clark
Publication Date: 1994-04-01
Nearly four thousand entries in thirty-five categories provide the etymologies, numerical equivalents, definitions, and usages of measurement terminology.
Solid-State Physics Source Book
by Sybil P. Parker
Publication Date: 1988-04-01
Handbook of Numerical Heat Transfer
by John P. Abraham (Editor); W. J. Minkowycz; J. Y. Murthy (Editor); E. M. Sparrow (Editor)
Publication Date: 2006-03-24
A completely updated edition of the acclaimed single-volume reference for heat transfer and the thermal sciences. This Second Edition of Handbook of Numerical Heat Transfer covers the basic equations for numerical method calculations regarding heat transfer problems and applies these to problems encountered in aerospace, nuclear power, chemical processes, electronic packaging, and other related areas of mechanical engineering. As with the first edition, this complete revision presents comprehensive but accessible coverage of the necessary formulations, numerical schemes, and innovative solution techniques for solving problems of heat and mass transfer and related fluid flows. Featuring contributions from some of the most prominent authorities in the field, articles are grouped by major sets of methods and functions, with the text describing new and improved, as well as standard, procedures.
Handbook of Optics
by Optical Society of America Staff
Publication Date: 1994-09-01
Prepared under the auspices of the Optical Society of America, the five carefully architected and cross-referenced volumes of the Handbook of Optics, Third Edition, contain everything a student, scientist, or engineer requires to actively work in the field. From the design of complex optical systems to world-class research and development methods, this definitive publication provides unparalleled access to the fundamentals of the discipline and its greatest minds. Individual chapters are written by the world's most renowned experts who explain, illustrate, and solve the entire field of optics. Each volume contains a complete chapter listing for the entire Handbook, extensive chapter glossaries, and a wealth of references. This pioneering work offers unprecedented coverage of optics data, techniques, and applications.