Books give you in-depth information on a topic, and are good sources for information that happened in the past or interpretive information for an on-going event or problem.
Search For Books
by Paul Connors
Call Number: KF9227 .C2 C347 2007
Publication Date: 2007-09-12
Gives the pros and cons of capital punishment, the ethical question, and if it's a deterrent to crime.
Conviction of the Innocent
by Brian L. Cutler (Editor)
Call Number: HV7419 .C692 2012
Publication Date: 2011-08-15
In the last several decades, over 250 citizens convicted of major felonies were found innocent and were exonerated. Today, thanks to the work of psychologists and other criminal justice researchers, the psychological foundations that underlie conviction of the innocent are becoming clear. There is real hope that these findings can lead to positive reforms, reduce the risk of miscarriages of justice, and avoid the consequences of wrongful convictions to victims and society.
Introduction to Criminal Justice
by Robert Bohm; Keith Haley
Call Number: TXT HV9950 .B63 2014
Publication Date: 2013-10-04
pt. 1. The foundations of criminal justice -- pt. 2. Law enforcement -- pt. 3. The courts -- pt. 4. Corrections -- pt. 5. Additional issues in criminal justice --
by Noël Merino
Call Number: HV9104 .J8318 2010
Publication Date: 2010-04-30
In addition to pro/con articles, each Introducing Issues with Opposing Viewpoints volume includes appealing features designed to help students understand the complexities of current issues.
by Jean Leverich
Call Number: KF9779 .J884 2009
Publication Date: 2009-01-02
Examines juvenile justice in the United States, focusing on due process, the right to privacy, and the death penalty.
Mental Illness and Criminal Behavior
by Shannon Fiack
Call Number: HV6133 .M455 2009
Publication Date: 2009-06-05
From the Publisher: Greenhaven Press's At Issue series provides a wide range of opinions on individual social issues. Each volume focuses on a specific issue and offers a variety of perspectives-eyewitness accounts, governmental views, scientific analysis, newspaper and magazine accounts, and many more-to illuminate the issue. Extensive bibliographies and annotated lists of relevant organizations point to sources for further research. Enhancing critical thinking skills, each At Issue volume is an excellent research tool to help readers understand current social issues and prepare reports.
Rehabilitating Sexual Offenders
by William L. Marshall; American Psychological Association Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: RC560 .S47 R42 2011
Publication Date: 2011-02-15
by Lucinda Almond
Call Number: LB3013.32 .S348 2008
Publication Date: 2007-12-05
Essays debate the issue of school violence in America, covering such topics as whether or not it is a prevalent problem, what the factors are that contribute to it, and whether stricter gun control laws can lead to its reduction.
By exploring the political and economic histories of Atlanta, Boston, Detroit, and New Orleans, Reid documents how each city experienced the demise of the industrial, welfare-state political economy and the rise of the post-industrial, absentee-state political economy and how these transformations have affected urban crime rates. Crime rates increased as manufacturing employment decreased.
'This Course Companion in Criminal Justice by Ursula Smartt is to be applauded. It is an essential handbook for all students and practitioners who are studying the criminal justice system. The user-friendly framework provides students with practical support in how they can organise their approach to studying to maximise their knowledge and revision skills. I have no hesitation in commending this Companion as a valuable complementary text'- Professor Allyson MacVean, John Grieve Centre for Policing & Community Safety, Buckinghamshire Chilterns University College'Congratulations to Ursula Smartt and SAGE on a most welcome'skills'text for Criminal Justice students...
Annotation Great Jobs for Criminal Justice Majors helps students explore career options within their field of study. Every aspect of the job-search process is covered, including assessing talents and skills, exploring options, making a smooth transition from college to career, conducting an effective job search, and landing the job.
Little research has focused on the termination of assaultive behavior among high-risk children and youth, and on the phenomenology of the young person’s own experience. Over a period of nine years Hoffman worked with 20 young participants now between the ages of 20 and 32, jointly exploring their individual and collective pathways out of serious and chronic violence. The study contributes to a common theory of change and rehabilitation for young people who have been seriously violence involved and impacted by trauma.
Recommended Reference Books
Black's Law Dictionary
by Henry C. Black; Joseph R. Nolan; Jacqueline M. Nolan-Haley; Martina N. Alibrandi; Stephen C. Hicks
Call Number: REF KF156 .B53 1990
Publication Date: 1990-07-01
Preface -- Pronunciation of Latin -- Outline of Latin Pronunciations -- Transcription System -- Guide to Pronunciation Symbols -- Text of Definitions --
Appendices: Table of Abbreviations; Constitution of the United States -- Time Chart of the United States Supreme Court -- Organizational Chart of United States Government -- Table of British Regnal Years
"The Sage Dictionary of Criminology provides a comprehensive introduction to criminological theory, its diverse forms of reference and its distinctive modes of analysis. The editors have brought together a group of internationally prominent academics and practitioners to produce this definitive reference and research tool."
From concerns about juveniles' incorrigibility at the turn of the century to school violence in the 1990s, adults have attempted to understand, control, and prevent juvenile violence. Yet, juvenile violence takes many forms, including both violence by juveniles and violence against juveniles, and has various causes and consequences. Since juvenile violence cannot be understood without examining the social context of a given time, this comprehensive encyclopedia provides a historical overview of many significant time periods and offers entries about many types of juvenile violence.
Historic U. S. Court Cases
by John W. Johnson (Editor)
Call Number: REF KF352.Z9 H57 2001 v.1 & v. 2
Publication Date: 2001-09-07
The two-volume set is arranged by theme: criminal law; governmental power; economic regulation; race, gender, sexuality and disability; and civil liberties. Each case features an information box providing the case's vital statistics (date, location, court, principal participants, and significance), a 1,000-5,000 word essay (201 in all) penned by one of 85 scholars (lawyers, legal historians, social scientists, humanities professors, etc.) identified by name and affiliation. Thematic sections are preceded by concise introductions, and the essays 43 new to this edition concentrate "on the narrative, dramatic dimension of legal disputes within their larger social and historical contexts."
The U. S. Constitution A to Z
by Robert L. Maddex
Call Number: REF KF4548 .M33 2002
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Two hundred and fifty entries, from abortion to zoning, explain modern constitutional issues, legal concepts, influential cases, and important individuals. Also included are documents, including the Constitution; important precedents such as the Mayflower Compact, the First Charter of Virginia, and the Articles of Confederation; early drafts of the Constitution; and various resolution and ratification documents from the Constitutional Congress and the various ratifying states.